What is quintessentially English?


I got a request from my sister in law from a school on Sunday about whether I have anything that is quintessentially English​. She let slip that she had an English sister in law when they were talking about a current project for the children and she let slip that she had an English sister in law, and of course I was asked if I could help.

The only thing is what do I have that is quintessentially English? I wear 50s pinup fashion that is more American than English, drive a Swedish car and live in The Netherlands.

I do eat some English food, but is that really going to be seen as quintessential? Would a 6 year old know that a particular brand of tea is English? Or a brand of pickle? Probably not…

I have a library full of books. But, again, that is not much use to a young child.

What I did have at my office is a flag bought for a world food fair that IT out on a few years ago. And a red phone box cookie tin that I got to treat the office with when I lastwent back to the UK.

Put them together and you do get something very English 🙂 I’ll see what the audience think when they see it next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

